Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Kanye West & Ty Dolla $ign - Vultures Volume 2 (2024)

'Vultures 1' is the first collaborative studio album by rapper Kanye West and singer Ty Dolla $ign, and it was released independently through West's YZY brand on 10 February 2024. The album features uncredited guest vocals from West's daughter North, Freddie Gibbs, YG, Quavo, Playboi Carti, Travis Scott, Bump J, Lil' Durk, Rich the Kid, and Chris Brown, and production was primarily handled by West himself, alongside Digital Nas, JPEGMafia, Chrishan, 88-Keys, Wheezy, Ojivolta, DJ Camper, Timbaland, No I.D., Wax Motif, the Legendary Traxster, and Anthony Kilhoffer, among others. It sustained multiple delays and changes to its tracklist before its final release, and several listening events to promote it, including a multi-stadium listening event and a concert in Reggio Emilia, were cancelled. The title track was released on 22 November 2023 and served as its lead single, and a set of listening events titled 'Vultures Rave' preceded the release of the second single, 'Talking/Once Again', which features uncredited guest vocals from his daughter North West. On 15 February  2024 the business-to-business music distributor FUGA started to remove the album from streaming and download services, because it had been published using their platform's automated processes after they had explicitly declined to publish it, but it was redistributed the same day through Label Engine. In contrast to West's previous two albums, it finds him mostly forgoing religious themes, and received mixed reviews from critics, with many criticizing the album's unoriginality and lyrics, namely those addressing West's rhetoric towards preceding controversies. This didn't stop it debuting at the top of the US Billboard 200, though, becoming West's eleventh number-one album, and Ty Dolla $ign's first. Recording sessions had been taking place since the summer of 2023, and so it's no surprise that many tracks had to be removed from the final track listing, including 'Everybody' and 'New Body', after the Backstreet Boys and Nicki Minaj respectively refused permission to use samples of their work. As usual with West's work, it didn't take long for them to appear online, and so here are the offcut's from 'Vultures 1', which you won't be surprised to learn that I've called 'Vultures Volume 2', and it's housed in an updated version of the original scrapped artwork. 

Track listing

01 Everybody (feat. Charlie Wilson & Lil' Baby)
02 Time Moving Slow
03 Timbo Freestyle
04 Slide
05 New Body (feat. Nicki Minaj)
06 Promotion (feat. Future) 
07 Lifestyle (feat. Lil' Wayne) 
08 Drunk (feat. Kodak Black & Bad Bunny)
09 Worship (feat. North West & Charlie Wilson)
10 River (feat. Young Thug)
11 Gun To My Head (feat. Kid Cudi)
12 Unlock
13 North's Song (feat. North West & James Blake)
14 Once Again
15 Forever Rollin' (feat. Lil' Baby)
16 All This Money On The Floor (feat. YG)
17 IG Models (feat. Future & Lil' Durk)
18 Don't Kill The Party (feat. Tyga)
19 Work Done/Diablo

No comments:

Post a Comment